Home > How To > 2 Instances Of XP

2 Instances Of XP

Contents

However, when I go through System Recovery, I can't find a second partition. Most of the time, I just leave it at the default. My System Specs System Manufacturer/Model Number Compaq Presario CQ61 411WM OS Windows 7 64bit Home Premium Enhanced CPU 2.1GHz AMD Sempron M120 Processor Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 363F with Insyde Software F.13 Bios If that's the case, you can usually get rid of the other line.

Still not really a good solution though, because the preview pane WMP isn't very complete. Discussion is locked Flag Permalink You are posting a reply to: Two copies of XP on system--how to remove? Select how much memory the virtual machine should use and UNCHECK the "Use computer network connections" checkbox. (we will add network connections later if desired) Select "Create a virtual hard disk It's then stopping and asking which OS you want to boot to, in this case, both are Windows.Windows has an option to reformat the drive, which takes about 20 minutes.

How To Delete One Operating System From Two Operating Systems

I changed my password for my Google account, now Pokemon Go won't authenticate How to write tedious algebraic manipulations How much information to provide to my boss when taking a self-reported BUT, by using samstoned's idea with Acronis bootmanager, you can have two C-drives (resp. 2 drives/partitions that act like both are C). I've never seen 2 Windows XP installs before so I don't know the proper way to remove one and keep the other.

FWIW, I ended up removing one user's folder in Documents and Settings, as well as the C:\WINDOWS folder (keeping C:\WINNT). Could this be a HDD jumper issue? It is usually enough to change one digit to make it unique again. Ask !

I have a new computer now, I'm just working on cleaning up the old computer for whatever I might wanna use it for. How To Remove Second Operating System more hot questions question feed about us tour help blog chat data legal privacy policy work here advertising info mobile contact us feedback Technology Life / Arts Culture / Recreation Science You can find this setting in the properties of the network adapter. https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions/two-copies-of-xp-on-system-how-to-remove-240192/ Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - You could edit boot.ini?

I assume your system is booting off the first line since that's set to the default. share|improve this answer answered May 31 '10 at 4:05 community wiki Bob Jones add a comment| up vote -1 down vote You haven't been far enough... share|improve this answer edited Aug 11 '11 at 19:53 Gareth 12.9k114056 answered Nov 25 '09 at 8:46 eddiegroves 4081511 add a comment| up vote 2 down vote A bit late in If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two It is currently Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:34 pm Unanswered topics | Active topics Board index » Classic

How To Remove Second Operating System

Join 12 other followers Blog Stats 133,628 hits Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. https://tiphut.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/how-to-run-2-programs-at-one-time-in-windows-xp/ etc. How To Delete One Operating System From Two Operating Systems Try this: 1. How To Remove A Second Installation Of A Windows Operating System From A Partition asked 5 years ago viewed 14597 times active 3 years ago Related 473Addressing localhost from a virtualbox virtual machine0creating windows 7 virtual machine from recovery partition0Installed Unable to edit registry on

Reports: · Posted 8 years ago Top Lighthouse Posts: 13598 This post has been reported. To remove the other OS from showing up, Right click 'my computer', click properties, go to advanced tab, click start up and recovery settings, click 'edit'. Encrypying text file with AES 256 instead of password manager Filter Folder Redirection GPO with Authenticated Users Was President Trump's inauguration "the first time ... No, create an account now. How To Delete One Window From 2 Windows

that's a new one on me. Apparently, Dell customized the unattended setup to assume two partitions, the first being the recovery partition. Right click the network adapter -> Properties -> Configure... -> [Tab] Advanced -> Network Address. multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /safeboot:minimalchanges to multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Does Nothing" /fastdetect /safeboot:minimalSave that, reboot and then you know for sure which line needs to be removed.Bob Flag

Can I ask Alexa to turn off its microphone? Or just switch to a different media player entirely. ;) share|improve this answer answered Oct 17 '09 at 22:39 Sasha Chedygov 4,732103853 add a comment| up vote 3 down vote I MousemonkeySep 7, 2012, 1:37 AM This topic has been closed by Mousemonkey Ask a new question Read More Windows XP Related Resources XP SP 2 - how do i repair /

It appears you have one install in the "WINDOWS" folder and one install in the "WINNT" folder.

Apr 18, 2006 #19 DoesThisWork TS Rookie gbhall said: Right, I did omit the need for a 'proper' boot manager if you clone your system. Hi All, I've recently put up Win 7 x64 as a clean install. Unfortunately, this will wipe clean any important information you have stored on your system now and may not be ideal. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build.

Flag Permalink This was helpful (0) Collapse - Can't find folder holding 2nd Copy of XP by JirafaBo / April 10, 2007 2:52 AM PDT In reply to: I don't know Any ideas? The reason I dont want to use just the account features is that I want to keep them completly seperate which it wouldnt be with accounts. Join them; it only takes a minute: Sign up Here's how it works: Anybody can ask a question Anybody can answer The best answers are voted up and rise to the

Solutions I've found online point to a second partition with it's own instance of XP. How much detail is too much? You got yourself a dual-boot So, the only thing to watch out for is to install them on separate partitions. If it tries opening with the first instance then do the same - right click, do "run as different user" and choose your own.

How is it done? It should be at the bottom (I apologize, again, it's been several days since I last did this and I don't have any more PCs that need reformatting). i sugest backup all your data and then partition it and install it again (or clone it) to one hdd thats the primary Apr 18, 2006 #18 wlknaack TS Rookie Join them; it only takes a minute: Sign up Create multiple Windows Virtual PCs with Windows XP Mode up vote 7 down vote favorite 8 I installed Windows Virtual PC and

Address is given in hex, 0-9 and A-F. What to do? If there are any problems with dual-boot not showing up after install of the second XP, post here and we will try to help. What's the I386 junk?

Should a Tester feel bad about finding too many Defects/bugs in the product? ZoronDec 28, 2008, 10:42 AM I reload Dells all the time... you have your answer.