Home > How To > 2 Copies Of Xp On My Comp

2 Copies Of Xp On My Comp

Contents

I have administrator rights so that shouldn't be the problem. Jim Chambers November 18, 2012 at 4:25 pm You can edit the boot.ini in notepad. by Ynot(m): 9:21am On Feb 20, 2007 You need to fix your MBR (Master boot record). [list][li]Option One: Open Start-Run and enter msconfig Click the tab "BOOT.INI" The contents of the solved Installed the wrong copy of windows 8, how do i reinstall the right one? this contact form

If, however, you are in the position of having two installations on the same partition, here is how to remove the surplus copy. and after the options pop up, gives 3 seconds to choose and then starts to install ‘Windows XP Professional Setup? Go on in there and edit the boot file. Thanks for all the help. 06-02-2005, 12:11 PM #7 Removed Registered Member Join Date: May 2005 Posts: 250 OS: Windows XP Home/Windows XP Pro/Linux It really boggles my

How To Delete One Operating System From Two Operating Systems

You will have a raw C: drive. You will need to reboot to change to the other instance, and choose from the boot-menu which one. I don't use one of the windows xp. Brian Cooley found it for you at CES 2017 in Las Vegas and the North American International Auto Show in Detroit.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter Email: Advertisement © 2017 MakeUseOf. Read more. Finally reboot your PC and you should boot straight to the XP desktop.

Home | About | Windows XP FAQ | Beginner Guides | Reviews | Contacts | Privacy How To Remove Operating System From Boot Menu This it would seem did not delete the ini file from the boot menu which is why he still had to select.

Tech Support Forum Security Center Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help General Computer Security Computer Security News Microsoft Support BSOD, Crashes And Hangs Windows 10 Support Windows 8, 8.1 Support Windows 7, Vista Support Windows How To Remove Second Operating System Install XP on partition C (just an example). If you booted to the first option on the boot menu you will need to remove the second line. Type bootcfg /?

Make sure it is the correct one though. How To Remove Multiple Windows 7 Boot Options Thanks. 06-03-2005, 03:44 PM #20 Removed Registered Member Join Date: May 2005 Posts: 250 OS: Windows XP Home/Windows XP Pro/Linux When you go to Start>Run>mmc.exe can you bring If you decide to leave both on there, then Sceptre's suggestion is the easiest and (probably) safest method. __________________ "Sorry, the number you have dialled is imaginary. It's basically up to you if you dont mind all the work of setting up a complete new installation - typically half a day or more, depending.

How To Remove Second Operating System

How Do I Remove A Second Installation Of XP From The Same Partition Having a second copy of Windows XP on the same partition is not particularly desirable, as it http://xphelpandsupport.mvps.org/how_do_i_remove_a_second_install.htm But what I cant figure out is if it is possible (and also how) to run a dual boot system with the "same" instance of Windows XP.Click to expand... How To Delete One Operating System From Two Operating Systems At the boot menu select the Windows copy you intend keeping. How To Remove A Second Installation Of A Windows Operating System From A Partition All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.

Type MSCONFIG in the run command and click the boot tab. weblink If it messes up I might have to have someone from the company come out and fix it and I didn't want to have to do that. You cannot clone the drive or partition if it also includes programs and data files because the registry in the OS will contain references to the previously assigned drive letter. After deleting the 'correct' windows folder you will need to remove the Windows entry from the Boot.ini file. How To Delete One Window From 2 Windows

It is annoying, as each boot I have to choose between the two copies of the OS.My question: how do I remove the 2nd, more recent installation of XP? If you had both HDD's installed at the time you installed the 2nd XP with, for example, the 1st XP on the HDD in the 0 position of the primary IDE TechSpot Account Sign up for free, it takes 30 seconds. navigate here How do I remove the option of the botched installation?

Everything said was correct, but not complete, there is a catch. How To Delete Operating System Windows 7 If you don't understand those statements, you are going a little deep for your knowledge, and at the least will need either more software to change partition sizes or another HDD. It hasn't and it still asks me which windows I want to move from, and when I pick the HDD version now it crashes, but the SSD boot is fine.

It gets stuck somewhere in the installation for no apparent reason, so I abandon it and install in on another partition (E) which installs fine.

Everything is working great. CNET Reviews Best Products Appliances Audio Cameras Cars Networking Desktops Drones Headphones Laptops Phones Printers Software Smart Home Tablets TVs Virtual Reality Wearable Tech Web Hosting Forums News Apple Computers Deals Cheers.Re: How Do I Remove A Windows Multiple Boot Option? How To Remove An Operating System From A Dual Boot It's just a case of disk space used.

This will provide you with the information regarding the current Windows folder you are accessing. Even if I clone the partition and hide the other one using boot manager (GRUB), windows still boots to the same partition. your help is highly appreciated thank you Reports: · Posted 8 years ago Top The Geek Posts: 2059 This post has been reported. his comment is here Darrell L PS - owned my WINXP since January of last year.

You will want to make sure to only delete folders belonging to the other install if you are sure you want it gone and if the two installs share any of Of course, you have the option which has been suggested in some of the other posts to install and manage the dual-boot using a 3rd party boot manager. Similar Topics Is dual monitor/keyboard possible for 2 separate instances of a PC game? FWIW, I ended up removing one user's folder in Documents and Settings, as well as the C:\WINDOWS folder (keeping C:\WINNT).

Could this be a HDD jumper issue? by earthrealm(m): 6:13am On Mar 14, 2010 good postRe: How Do I Remove A Windows Multiple Boot Option? Make sure it is the correct one though. ABOUT About Us Contact Us Discussion Forum Advertising Privacy Policy GET ARTICLES BY EMAIL Enter your email address to get our daily newsletter.

In System properties click the Advanced tab and press the Settings button in the Startup and recovery section. You will see a time out which is 30 seconds by default, set that to 0. Delete the O/S you dont want. I just did a little amateur research.

I obviously still have two copies of it on my drive because my memory is still occupied. Format the partition that the second copy is on? Book your tickets now and visit Synology. by hansibone(m): 3:28pm On Jul 30, 2009 the best idea is d last option by ynot, let windows fix your boot loader for you.use yor installation cd and repair instead of

I have a new computer now, I'm just working on cleaning up the old computer for whatever I might wanna use it for.