Home > Hard Drive > Changing HD's From One Computer To Another .

Changing HD's From One Computer To Another .

Contents

rdzonaJun 1, 2012, 8:13 PM Anytime you change out multiple hardware components like that you really should just do a fresh install of the OS. Transfering the old HDD and getting windows 7 to work is the part that is stressing me out the most. We'll let you know when a new response is added. Even when I load using safe mode it will not load and goes instantly to BSOD. have a peek at this web-site

All your installed applications are there, as well as your old user profiles and folders. What in the world did I do or shouldn't have done. Software/Hardware used: Intel,Windows 7 Asked: October 4, 20116:44 AM Last updated: March 31, 201212:46 AM Related Questions Unable to boot after installing Ubuntu Sata drive hijacking the boot process? Assuming because those drivers are not installed. https://www.linux.com/answers/can-i-switch-my-hd-linux-new-computer

Move Hard Drive To New Computer Windows 7

Since the employee using this was shifted to a different branch, he brought the HD with him. Not what you needed? Thanks, Arie.

najoobk November 9th, 2014 at 6:37 am 26 fix HDC is the tool to run can be done pre or post disk move more info here http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php?showtopic=20464

If this works as others have said, you are my newest heroes and will be entered into my Will.

How would i do it. Also found here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/953356 Filed under: Microsoft Windows and All Things PC, Tweaks RSS feed for comments on this post TrackBack URI 27 Responses for "Transfer XP from One Computer to Had I done so in the first place it would have saved me hours of hassle. (Unless you're moving the drive to an identically-built box perhaps?) I've heard elsewhere that a Can I Use My Old Harddrive In A New Computer Removing the cover will reveal the drive, which is itself typically attached with a few screws.

We'll let you know when a new response is added. Windows boots now to default OOBE first boot desktop, with default 800*600 resolution and default theme. Several years passed without me using this little trick and I forgot the path in the registry to the enum key. Wen trying to load the Hard disk , its not booting up !!! -> it just shows "starting windows" and while forming the logo , it crashes.

Information Windows 7 System Preparation Tool is a powerful, native Windows tool. Move Hard Drive To New Computer Windows 7 Won't Boot mentions, MS Windows would not work in this situation for just that reason. If you found this web page before attempting to move a currently installed Windows XP to new hardware. Thank you!

admin August 17th, 2011 at 9:08 pm 5 Yes 🙂

TangoUno August 19th, 2011 at 3:13 am 6 Thank you Worked 🙂

James Hardin April 3rd,

Moving Hard Drive To New Computer Windows 10

See this link to confuse you even more. http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarget.com/itanswers/unable-to-boot-windows-7-after-moving-the-hd-from-one-pc-to-another/ you may want to check on this before you actualy try swaping the drive to another computer. Move Hard Drive To New Computer Windows 7 It has SATA interface, so does the new Motherboard going to buy. Swapping Hard Drives Between Computers Forums > Software > Can I swap my hard drive with operating system to another motherboard? "Can I swap my hard drive with operating system to another motherboard?" Started 6/15/2007 by

ect... I would suggest accessing the motherboard web site to get the latest drivers and bios updates rather than use the CD media included with the MB. Ultimately, it might work, and it might not. best of luck... 210 pointsBadges: report Jibin Oct 12, 2011 4:04 AM GMT @Ranjeetkmr ...... Adding Old Hard Drive To New Computer

I don't know if there is a way to install from the command prompt... It will issue out the instructions in a correct manner to the processor, although you do lose a bit of computing power from it having to make that computation on every So if you take a machine that had been running the 1 HAL and put it in a dual core machine, you will blue screen every time, even booting to safe-mode, Source Ask a new question Read More Hard Drives Windows 7 Computer Storage Related Resources Transferring old Hard Drive to New Computer?

I know there are others. -Leo robin July 26, 2008 11:51 AM Hi Leo This article has really confused me. How To Transfer Operating System From One Computer To Another its worth lacs :P @Ekardris .... Literally two copies of the same everything, except the boot drive?

Acronis Disk Manager and Partition Magic are two that come to mind.

Advice very much appreciated. Today’s massive drives, with capacities exceeding 1TB, can create that illusion. You should probably visit the Disk Management utility, which can be found by visiting the Administrative Tools –> Computer Management section of the Windows Control Panel, to ensure that Windows is recognizing and Acronis Universal Restore Copyright © 2003-2017 Puget Sound Software, LLC and Leo A.

But there are scenarios where it may not be needed. XP Second Edition - it will ask you after each and every hardware-rebuild beyond the fifth to enter your CD's serial number... Attach cables and power connectors by consulting the motherboard user manual, and the labels you made when you disconnected them from the original mother board. I have a 4 year old all-in-one computer from best buy.

Normally this would include a complete reinstallation of Windows 7 and all applications. Xp. A backup is, in my opinion, not a reliable way to move an entire system to a new machine. The whole process took less than a day including half a day to housekeep and create backups.

Buy an SSD and install to SATA 0 port2. By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. I do not recommend to use this method on RAID systems. My System Specs OS ... .